Pawan Muktasana Series3 (A Yoga Anubhava Series)

The Pawanmuktasana series is a hallmark of Satyananda Yoga tradition. It is one of the most important group of practices that has a profound effect not only on the body but on the whole being.

'Pawan' means the wind or air. It refers to the energy or prana flowing in our body like wind. 'Mukta' means to release. Therefore Pawanmuktasana refers to a group of asanas that helps in unblocking the flow of prana in the body, thereby improving flexibility and strength and bestowing a feeling of lightness in the body and mind.

The Pawanmuktasana series is divided into three groups:

PM 1, the Anti-rheumatic series - for all joints.

PM 2, the Anti-gastric series - for the abdominal region.

PM 3, the Shaktibandha series - for the pelvic and upper chest region.

PM -3 series is also known as Shakti bandha series as it boosts up the energy level and dynamism in the body. It works mainly on harmonizing and strengthening the reproductive system. Benefits are also felt in other important organs of the body such as lungs, heart, spine and endocrine functioning.

The upcoming five-day Yoga Anubhava Series will focus mainly on Pawanmuktasana 3 group of practices.

Note: These practices should be attempted only by practitioners who have a basic level of physical fitness. Students who have severe back conditions, high blood pressure, cardiac problems and hernia should avoid these practices.

Instructions for participants to all classes:

  • The practices are suitable for all levels of flexibility and fitness

  • Please wear comfortable clothing for ease of movement

  • Ensure that you have not eaten for at least 2 hours before class

  • Next classes dates will be announced here once it is scheduled again.